Astrology Houses Chart

Natal Birth Chart

Our birth chart is a circle that is separated into 12 sections—like slices of pie where each slice represents an area of our life. These sections are called our “Houses”. A zodiac sign rules each house and, as you probably already know, there are 12 of those as well.

The beginning of your chart is called your Rising Sign or Ascendant Sign. A natal chart (birth chart or astrology houses chart) is an astronomical snapshot of the stars based on the exact day, time, and place you were born.

In astrology, a natal or astrology houses chart reading shows your character traits, behavioral and emotional tendencies, hidden wants and desires, and the directions your life may venture in the future.

You probably know your astrological sign. This is also called your sun sign and the one you most commonly associate with your zodiac. Sun is only one part of your birth chart—natal chart. You can look at your birth chart as a screenshot of what the cosmos appeared like the moment you were born into this world. If you want to get the complete picture of your personality, then you need to consider the exact position of each planet. In astrology, an Aries with a Pisces moon and Cancer rising differs from an Aries with a Sagittarius moon and Leo rising.

93% of people don’t know this truth about their zodiac sign. Do You? See it HERE>

To find your birth chart, you will use a few things about your birth: your birth date, and location, city and state, of your birth.

This simple data you probably already know will get the exact star constellation at the moment you were born. This way you get an accurate Moon Sign reading. All of this data is on your birth certificate. Once you have confirmed that information, head to an online birth chart calculator, (you can learn more about that here) where you will see a quick intro video and be able to enter your information on the form.

It may seem a little complicated at first, but don’t let it scare you. Just be patient and it will all come together. We keep it as simple as possible too, without interfering with any of the accuracy of your reading.

The major areas to focus on first are your sun, moon, and rising signs. These are the planets that exercise the most influence over your personality. Then you’ll consider which Houses that represent the different areas of our lives those planets are in.

It sounds intense, but it’s actually not very difficult to get used to. It’s about an 8th grade learning level once you settle in. We asked astrologer Elena Roberts to help us put together a primer on the birth chart basics to help you get started where you can learn about your full natal chart report. HERE

The Sun Sign

As you learn more about your birth chart wheel, you will see that your sun sign is your “main” sign. Locate the sun symbol on your birth chart; it’s the circle with a dot in the center. Then look to the outer edge of the full astrology chart wheel to find the astrological sign in which your sun lives.

Your natal chart results show how your sun signs indicate “our ego, our drive, and our needs in this lifetime,” says Ms. Roberts. We associate each sign with unique traits.

Scorpios, for example, and which is my sun sign, are about being obsessive, mysterious, and fascinated by sex, death, and the occult. There is also the Moon Sign and the Rising Sign, but let’s skip to explaining the Houses, as you can get a complete reading HERE.

Natal Chart Houses

The last pieces of the puzzle are the houses where you can learn about your astrology chart compatibility. For these, you look at the inner circle on your chart. There on the astrology houses chart, you’ll see numbers one through 12, moving counterclockwise. These are your houses. Some of these sections will have multiple planetary symbols in them. Some will have none. That’s all normal.

Take note of which of your houses have many planets in them, Roberts advises. And then get specific: look at where your sun, moon, and rising signs are located. Once you get more familiar with astrology, you can also look up the meanings of Venus, Mars, and every other planet in your chart.

Here’s how it works: Your houses each represent different areas of your life. When you layer on the meaning of a planet, you get a nuanced view of your personality.

For example, the third house stands for communication, information, gossip, and news, as well as siblings, transportation, and short-distance travel. My sun is in Scorpio in the third house. “Where the sun is, that’s where your ego shines,” Roberts says. “You shine in your profession and enjoy it.”

Everyone also has “empty houses,” or houses on our charts with no planets in them. They represent areas of our life that can be a challenge for us. For example, my eighth house is empty. This house represents spending habits, as well as sex, death, transformation, and debt. My empty eighth house indicates that “if you had a million dollars, you might go wild and spend it all,” Roberts says.

If your eleventh house, which represents friendship, community, humanitarian endeavors, and astrology, was empty, you “might need to put extra effort into working with other people,” Roberts says. You might not want to take part in group projects.

For your reference, here’s what each house represents.

Of course, remember that you have free will, too. After all, if I win the lottery, I can choose to hire a financial planner to help me curb the reckless spending habits of my empty eighth house. Knowing that this is an area I’m predisposed to struggle with might encourage me to take preventative action.

  • The First House: Self, identity, and how you present to the world.
  • The Second House: Money, childhood friends, and self-esteem.
  • The Third House: Communication, news, gossip, siblings, and short-distance travel.
  • The Fourth House: Home, personal beliefs, family traditions, and ancestors.
  • The Fifth House: Creativity, inspiration, parties, and children. (Keep in mind that astrologically speaking, “Having a business can be like having a child,” Roberts says. A book or an art project could also count.)
  • The Sixth House: Daily routine, health, self-care, and the people we see every day, from your Starbucks barista to your subway crush.
  • The Seventh House: Partnerships — including romance, friendships, and business contracts — and open enemies.
  • The Eighth House: Sex, death, taxes, transformation, and debt.
  • The Ninth House: Long-distance travel, philosophy, intellectualism, higher education, religion, and values (such as honesty).
  • The Tenth House: Career, public image, and what you give to the world.
  • The Eleventh House: Friendship, community, humanitarian endeavors, and astrology.
  • The Twelfth House: Secrets, lies, psychological struggles, and hidden enemies.

What To Do Next

This is just the beginning with decoding your birth chart — if you’re interested in learning more, you can learn more about the meanings of the other planets, learn about aspects (that’s the angles the planets make with each other), and find out how comfortable each planet is in each sign.

If you’re willing to spend some cash, a professional astrologer can give you an in-depth reading — or you can check out this tutorial and begin learning more on your own. Astrology can seem overwhelming at first, but before you know it, you’ll be interpreting the positions of the stars like a pro. Learn more with your free astrology birth chart.

Martin Hamilton

Martin enjoys writing and blogging. Martin has a background in Psychology, Mindfulness Practices, and Organizational Development. Martin believes the true teacher never controls anyone's life in any way—instead, they merely explain how to advance consciousness, and that results in true personal freedom.

Recent Posts