What Are the 7 Chakras and What If They Are Blocked?

The 7 Major Chakras

You have probably heard about chakras and their crucial role in the flow of energy in your body. It is critically important to keep your chakras open or unblocked. So what exactly are chakras and how do they affect your well-being emotionally and physically?

Let’s inspect your 7 main chakras. There are actually 12 chakras, but we will discuss the 7 main ones here. We’ll also talk about the impact these energy centers have on your mind and body.

Most importantly, we will explain how to keep them “open” in order to promote our well-being physically, mentally, and emotionally.

What are chakras?

In Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the related energy centers in your body. You can visualize these as wheels or disks of spinning energy. Each corresponds to certain nerve bundles and includes your major organs.

To function at an optimal level, your chakras need to remain open, or what we call balanced. If there is a blockage, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a connected chakra.

There are seven main chakras that run along your body’s spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend through the crown of your head, as depicted in the image above. We can get further detailed regarding the number of chakras in our body where some people believe you have at least 114 different chakras in the body, but that’s for another time.

The chakras most often referred to are the seven main ones that we are going to explore in further detail below.

What are the 7 main chakras?

Again, the chakra system refers to the energy centers we have in our bodies. These seven major chakras are in a specific location along your spine. Let’s look at each one more closely.

Root chakra

The root chakra, or Muladhara, is at the base of your spine. Its kshetram, or superficial activation point, is between the perineum and the coccyx or the pelvic bone. Because of its location and connection with the act of excretion, it is associated with the anus. It provides you with a base or foundation for life, and it helps you feel grounded and able to withstand challenges. Your root chakra handles your sense of security and stability.

Sacral chakra

The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button. This chakra handles your sexual and creative energy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions and the emotions of others.

Solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, is in your stomach area. It’s responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life.

Heart chakra Heart chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is near your heart, in the center of your chest. It comes as no surprise that the heart chakra is all about our ability to love and show compassion.

Throat chakra Throat chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is in your throat. This chakra has to do with our ability to communicate verbally.

Third eye chakra Third eye chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, is between your eyes. You can thank this chakra for a strong gut instinct. That’s because the third eye handles intuition. It’s also linked to imagination.

Crown chakra Crown chakra

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, is at the top of your head. Your Sahasrara represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe. It also plays a role in your life’s purpose.

Often referred to as a thousand-petaled lotus, we say it to be the most subtle chakra in the system. The crown chakra relates to pure consciousness, and it is from this chakra that all the other chakras emanate.

What does it mean if a chakra has a blockage or is unbalanced?

Think of chakras as out of balance versus blocked. The depletion of energy flow or too much energetic activity in a chakra can manifest into different outcomes.

When a chakra is low in energy, you will suffer difficulty expressing the particular qualities associated with that chakra. When a chakra is overactive, qualities are a manifesting a dominant force in the person’s life. This can have both physical and emotional effects.

An example of using the first chakra, which is about security, survival, and the foundation of our life, is if it’s underactive, it can show up as depression and insecurity. If there’s too much energy, it can show up as fearlessness without precaution or hoarding because you need something more to make you feel secure.

Did you know life has a pathway to happiness or a happiness code? See what happened to David after he discovered some Harvard neurological research that we are going to reveal to you. This works for happiness and abundance. Start experiencing better sleep and less brain clutter here.

Can a blocked chakra affect your health?

The location of the chakra that’s out of balance may affect the parts of your body in close relation to that chakra. This includes your organs, bones, joints, and tissues that are near that area.

It’s also important to note that imbalances in the particular chakras may cause an emotional imbalance which may lead to increased anger, sadness, fear, or indecisiveness.

Always pay attention to both the psychological and physiological sensations. They can communicate with each other and uncover the root cause of the experience.

If you are experiencing too much stress physically or mentally, it may cause one or more chakras to be out of balance.

Poor personal habits like bad physical alignment or posture, especially the practice of eating unhealthy foods, and self-destructive behavior like alcoholism may cause a chakra to be imbalanced.

Note that prolonged imbalance may lead to physical disease and illness, musculoskeletal issues, and mental health challenges, including depression or anxiety.

How can you unblock a chakra?

One of the best ways to promote balance in a chakra is to create alignment in your physical body through:

  1. breathing practices to encourage the flow of energy
  2. meditation which will bring about clarity of mind
  3. practicing yoga, and each chakra has yoga poses that may help fine-tune its energy.

How to Use and Activate Chakra Symbols

In summary, it’s important to acknowledge that there are many interpretations of the chakra symbols, and this set of symbols in this article is just one of those interpretations. I would like to encourage you to look up the meaning behind any new symbols you come across and understand how they apply to you and your practice.

You can use these chakra symbols, or pieces of them, to help activate and align your chakras. Keep in mind that if one chakra is blocked, you’ll sense an imbalance in your entire being. By wearing certain colors or eating certain foods, you can bring your chakras back into alignment.

You can also realign your chakras with your yoga practice or breathing like mentioned above in this article. In the practice of yoga, particular postures and mantras align the chakra system and overall flow of prana (life force) energy. When your chakras are in alignment, you will certainly live your best life!

Martin Hamilton

Martin enjoys writing and blogging. Martin has a background in Psychology, Mindfulness Practices, and Organizational Development. Martin believes the true teacher never controls anyone's life in any way—instead, they merely explain how to advance consciousness, and that results in true personal freedom.

Recent Posts